Random Thoughts on Christmas Traditions

Christmas Starbucks

It’s Christmas time again!

Christmas time is here again. The snickerdoodles are in the oven, and as I sit here on my couch watching Stranger Things, for like the 4th time (okay it’s not like the 4th time, it actually is the 4th time. Don’t judge), I was thinking about what I normally do on Christmas Eve. Thinking back, most years I spend Christmas Eve either wrapping presents or trying to finish a last minute gift. Most of the time, it also involves watching a movie or a show.

I’ve always been a little bit ahead of my time. I like to think of myself as a  groundbreaker… In this case, I was binge watching before binge watching was a thing. I like making handmade gifts, but usually it means that I work late into the night for the few days leading up to Christmas in order to finish it on time. To keep myself awake, I would put in a movie, but my VHS movie collection wasn’t huge. I only had a handful or two of movies, so there wasn’t a lot to choose from when selecting the movie to watch while working on the sweater, or stocking, or whatever I was making. I would get tired of most of the movies, so I would end up picking a movie that I didn’t mind watching over and over. Then I would binge watch the movie while working furiously on the gift.

One year, I was making my sister-in-law a sweater, and I think I must have watched Jurassic Park I and II like 3 or 4 times each. See? Ahead of my time. I know! Cool, right?

So anyway, this year, I’m borderline obsessed with Stranger Things. My one complaint is that there aren’t more episodes for each season. It’s just not right!

Anyway… I was thinking, and it seems like certain shows and movies have become Christmas traditions around my house. So here’s my list of movies I usually watch around Christmas time.

  1. Jurassic Park
  2. Jurassic Park 2 (but not Jurassic Park 3 because it kind of sucked)
  3. A Christmas Story
  4. National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (though the past few years, I’ve been watching this one earlier in the year and not around Christmas)
  5. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (arguably the best musical ever!!!)
  6. White Christmas (2nd best, but Seven Brides for Seven Brothers is still better)
  7. Harry Potter (back when the new movies were being released around the holidays)
  8. Lord of the Rings (also when the new movies were being released)
  9. James Bond- one of the channels had James Bond marathons several years in a row (much to the dismay of my sister-in-law)
  10. The Grinch- obviously (the cartoon version and the one with Jim Carey)
  11. This year’s addition: Stranger Things

My Christmas movie selection isn’t always Christmas related, as you can tell.

On a different note, Stranger Things has made me realize that my kitchen is totally in OrangeKitchenstyle now.

I was going to get rid of the orange Formica countertops, but they are totally in again. (That’s what I’m telling myself. Leave me my dreams). I’m pretty sure I saw orange counters in Stranger Things. So they have to be in style. I will say though, that there are certain styles from the eighties that I wouldn’t want to bring back. Like wallpaper. I vividly remember the terrible wallpaper we had in our house when I was growing up. My favorite (that should be read in a super sarcastic tone) was the bright orange, green and yellow dinner-plate-size flowers in my bathroom. They coordinated with the avocado green toilet, sink and bathtub. Some styles just shouldn’t come back…

This year, I am starting a new tradition- working on my sailboat. Hopefully it won’t be an ongoing tradition. Maybe by next Christmas it will already be fixed up enough that I can just spend time on it without having to fix anything major.

Sea Bean Galley

The galley (boat kitchen) of the Sea Bean. Notice the Christmas Starbucks cups…

So anyway… I wish you all a very Merry Christmas if you celebrate Christmas. If you don’t celebrate Christmas, I wish you peace and good things.

#christmastraditions #christmasonaboat #whydoesntstrangerthingshavemoreepisodes