The Compass Has Spoken

The invisible compass works in mysterious ways. I have been dreaming of sailing for years, and I finally decided to stop resisting it. I decided I needed a sailboat. The problem is that the kind of sailboat I really want is nowhere near my budget. So I decided to get creative.

I had an old Toyota that I didn’t drive anymore. As luck would have it, I found a guy who needed a car and had a boat that he was trying to sell. So I did the only sensible thing I could think of. I traded the car for a 32 foot Ericson sailboat. In retrospect, I think he probably got the better end of the deal, but at least now I have a boat.

Sea Bean Project

The Sea Bean

As it turns out, the boat is a complete disaster. The engine is out, the electrical system is shot and the plumbing is a nightmare. It has sails, but I haven’t had a chance to even check them out completely. (My fingers are crossed on that part). My dad and I are working on it together- kind of a father-daughter project. We’ve been cleaning out the incredible mess that the previous owner left behind, and Dad has started trying to sort out the electrical wiring so that we can make sure the navigation lights work at the very least.

I started a blog about the whole process and am probably going to set up a crowdfunding campaign to help offset some of the costs. I have decided that a book is in order, and am keeping detailed notes and documenting the whole project with pictures.

Here is the link to the blog. I will be posting more and will be adding some videos.

Leave a comment